Education

ABCmouse

ABCmouse.com helps kids learn to read through phonics, and teaches lessons in math, social studies, art, music, and much more. Over 5,000 learning activities (fun games, puzzles, art, etc.) for kids ages 2-7+.

Adult Learning Center (LearningExpress)

Offers busy adults the resources to improve their basic skills in reading, writing, and math, prepare for the GED test, or become a U.S. citizen.

Brainfuse Arlington

** Only available in Arlington Public Library branches **

Brainfuse is a service for Arlington students in grades 7-12. All students can access the service at any Arlington Public Library location. Arlington ISD students can access the service from home with an Arlington library card or student ID. You can get tutoring without a Brainfuse account. To access all Brainfuse features, please create a separate Brainfuse account. Tutors are available Every day, 2 to 11 p.m. Central Standard Time. Live tutors in: Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Earth Science, Elementary Science, Middle School Science, Elementary Math, Middle School Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Pre-Algebra, Precalculus, Calculus, Reading, Spanish, Writing, AP Tests, SAT, ACT, Accuplacer, and Compass.

Brainfuse Grand Prairie

Brainfuse HelpNow Grand Prairie is available to any Grand Prairie Library cardholder.

Brainfuse Arlington is provided by the Arlington Library in conjunction with Arlington ISD, and has its own policies.

Brainfuse Mansfield

Test prep, skills building, and practice tests for a broad range of academic and vocational exams.
Start an online session with a tutor trained in homework help, paper review, and test prep.

Students can access the service from home with a Mansfield Library Card. You can get tutoring without a Brainfuse account. To access all Brainfuse features, please create a separate Brainfuse account.

College Center Plus (LearningExpress)

If you need to strengthen your fundamental academic skills for your courses, prepare for an important placement test, or ensure a top score on a graduate school entrance exam, the resources here can help you reach your goal.

College Success Skills (LearningExpress)

Build skills for success—in college and beyond with organizational strategies, classroom success skills, research skills, and getting academic support.

Educational Administration Abstracts

This research database includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Records are selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as Educational Administration QuarterlyReview of Higher EducationJournal of Educational Administration, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, including coverage dating back over 46 years.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

The Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.

High School Equivalency Center (LearningExpress)

Earning a high school equivalency credential can open the door to better income, a more fulfilling job, and a college education. If you are preparing for the GED® test, HiSET® or TASC™ exams, our practice tests, interactive tutorials, and eBooks will help you reach your goal.

LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more. Makes it easier for adults and students to locate the resources they need when they need it. You can search and access tutorials before signing into and downloading content to their secure personalized portfolios, “My Center.” Learning Express also has dozens of eBooks available read online.

Lynda.com

On Demand Learning for computer software, business, and more.

Learn something new at your own pace! If you're new to the site, check out their tutorial on getting started.

Miss Humblebee’s Academy

Miss Humblebee’s Academy is an award-winning, online curriculum for children preschool through kindergarten.The curriculum lays the foundation for a lifetime of learning success, providing strength in core subject areas: math, science and social studies, language and literacy, art, and music..

Professional Development Collection

The most beneficial and most significant collection of full-text education journals in the world.

Recursos en español (LearningExpress)

Este centro ofrece a los adultos que están muy ocupados los recursos para mejorar sus habilidades básicas, ganar sus credenciales de GED® o ser ciudadano estadounidense.

This center offers adults writing, grammar, reading, math instruction, as well as help to become a U.S. citizen.

School Center (LearningExpress)

The resources here can help students prepare for important tests, get extra help with assignments, and boost their skills in important subjects.

Teacher Reference Center Index

Teacher Reference Center indexes abstracts, citations and full-text articles from 280 periodicals.

Tuition Funding Sources

TFS offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 Billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and career information.

Hobbies & Collecting

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Centre

Provides comprehensive content from books and magazines for more than 140 topics in the subject areas of arts & crafts, collecting, games &, electronics, model building, home & leisure, needlework, outdoors &, nature, and scrapbooking and papercraft.

Health & Wellness

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information.

Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Health Reference Center Academic

Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic integrates millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, topics include medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text fromCreative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Magill's Medical Guide Online

An up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.

MedicLatina

Access top-tier peer-reviewed Spanish and Latin American medical journals.

MedicLatina es una colección incomparable en investigación médica.

Medline Plus

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.

MEDline with MESH

Search the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Natural & Alternative Treatments

This comprehensive, natural medicine database is designed specifically for the consumer-health researcher and clinician.

Pub Med

More than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.

Salud en Español

Providing its own easy-to-use interface in Spanish, Salud en Español makes it easy for the researcher to quickly navigate through the database to find evidence-based health information.

Salud en Español provee reportes completos basados en evidencias y fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el bienestar.

Magazines, Newspapers & Journals

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.   

EBSCO Discovery Service

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is an online research tool that “pulls together” many of our resources so that they can be explored using a single search box; you could think of EDS as the Library’s version of Google!

Not only does it search many of our resources with one search box, EDS returns your results quickly and ranks them according to relevancy. It’s powerful and should be of help finding resources for your research. Just keep in mind that, like Google, it may return a large number of results and you will need to use judgment when assessing their value.

Explora

Let your research take flight with Explora, the place to find information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects.

Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Search local and state full-text articles on topics such as business, health, education, government, history, politics and more from (12/1/90-Current). Also includes Current Events and Special Reports for homework help. From Newsbank.

Fuente Académica Premier

Fuente Académica Premier provides researchers with a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, designed to make academic research readily available in PDF format. Fuente Académica Premier offers full text for nearly 1,000 journals and 111 academic books from more than 20 countries.

MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra School Edition contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and much more.

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra School Edition contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and much more.

Middle Search Plus

This database contains full text for a variety of popular middle school magazines.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Primary Search

Full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines.

Serials Directory

This database provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information, as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.

TOPIC Search

Explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.

Zinio eMagazines

Subscriptions to popular and specialty magazines delivered by the world's largest digital newsstand, with full color magazines – identical to the print edition.

Science

Agricola

Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, this resource provides access to millions of agricultural citations.

Biomes and Ecosystems

Biomes and Ecosystems from Salem Science: Both students and casual readers will learn more about the extraordinary diversity of life on Earth through this unique lens of the diversity of biomes and ecosystems.

GreenFILE

Covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Science & Technology Collection

Aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.

Science in Context

Science In Context draws people into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.

SciTech Collection Premium

Includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

Genealogy & Local History

America's Obituaries & Death Notices
Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition, distributed exclusively by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com, delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. 

Fold3

Distributed by ProQuest, Fold3 Library Edition by Ancestry provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place's past. 

History & Biography

American Indian Histories and Cultures

American Indian Histories and Cultures is a major resource containing material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history int he world. It presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the ongoing repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. The resource explores the consequent political, social and cultural impact on American Indian life against the backdrop of an ever-expanding western frontier through a wealth of rare original documents. 

American West

Through a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources, American West is a dynamic teaching and research resource.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA )contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists and policy makers.

Salem History

Learn about cultures, events, and influential people throughout history with Salem History's informative entries. Create a free profile and save the articles you need, along with citations.

eBooks & eAudiobooks

Audiobook Cloud

AudioBookCloud: Your Online Audio Library - is an online audio book library collection. AudioBookCloud gives unlimited streaming access to the entire collection.No downloads. No software. No holds. No waiting periods. Unlimited access to all the books, all the time. Just click and listen.

EBooks on EBSCOhost

More than 27,000 eBooks are available for browsing, searching, and virtual check-out. TexShare's eBook collection includes titles from the world's leading business, technology, trade, reference, academic, and scholarly publishers. Search by title, author, keyword, publisher, publication date, or ISBN number.

Read eBooks offline using the Bluefire Reader.

EBrary eBooks - Public Library Complete

A searchable collection of more than 30,000 eBooks (5,000+ in Spanish) from trusted publishers. Ideal for school, research projects, & everyday information needs.

Hoopla

hoopla is a groundbreaking digital media service that allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! With no waiting, titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to phones or tablets for offline enjoyment later. We have hundreds of thousands of titles to choose from, with more being added daily. hoopla is like having your public library at your fingertips. Anytime. Anywhere.

Kids eReading Room

Just as the children’s section of the physical branch is creatively sectioned off, we created a user-friendly section of our OverDrive-powered website for kids.

OverDrive

OverDrive offers eBooks and audiobooks to enjoy on your computer, smart phone or eReader.

New to OverDrive? Check out their Help pages!

RBdigital

RBdigital (formerly OneClickDigital) brings exclusive Recorded Books eAudio, magazines, and econtent from all major publishers. Curated title lists feature the best literature in a wide variety of genres along with an outstanding collection of award-winning Children’s and Young Adult titles.

Tumblebook Cloud

TumbleBook Cloud contains a vast array of YA/Teen novels, classics, poetry, short stories, YA/Teen audiobooks, graphic novels, and world class educational videos from National Geographic. These items are always available, never on hold, and no need to download.

Tumblebook Cloud Jr.

TumbleBookCloud Junior is an online collection of eBooks and read-along chapter books, non-fiction books, graphic novels, educational videos, and audiobooks!

Tumblebook Library

Online children's story books in English, Spanish and French.

Books & Authors

Book Review Digest Plus

Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works. This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection developmen.

Contemporary Authors Online

Contemporary Authors Online offers students and patron continuous access to deep and current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 145,000 of today's most influential novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters.

In addition, Contemporary Authors Online offers continuously updated information on the most active authors in this database. Included are author-provided updates, expanded entries, bibliographies, awards, and recent update information.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select

Covering authors currently active or active during the latter part of the 20th Century,  this resource brings together critical essays, reviews and other critical responses representing a range of views on authors and their works across all genres and all areas of the world.

Contemporary Literary Criticism™ through Literature Criticism Online assembles critical responses to the works of contemporary authors of all sorts — novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers, political leaders, and writers from other disciplines — from every region of the world. Clear, accessible introductory essays followed by carefully selected critical responses allow end-users to engage with a variety of scholarly views and conversations about authors, works and literary topics. Students writing papers or class presentations, instructors preparing their syllabi, or anyone seeking a deeper understanding of contemporary literature will find this a highly useful resource.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

This unparalleled resource for biographical and critical information on authors in all genres, from all time periods and from around the world provides electronic access to all volumes of the acclaimed Dictionary of Literary Biography series as well as the DLB Documentary series and the DLB Yearbook series.

The purpose of the series is to make literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and the reading public, while satisfying the needs of teachers and researchers. As the most important thing about a writer is his writing, the entries are career biographies, tracing the development of the author’s canon and the evolution of his or her reputation while placing the author in the wider perspective of literary history. Students, scholars and teachers alike can make good use of these comprehensive overviews, which also include extensive lists of the authors’ works and bibliographies of recommended biographical and critical resources.

English Poetry Second Edition

The most comprehensive archive of English verse available, has become recognized as an indispensable research tool for scholars and students from around the world. The collection redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection with enhanced functionality and the addition of over 20,000 poems.

English Poetry, Second Edition contains over 183,000 poems, essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 printed sources, more than 2,700 poets are represented.

Essay & General Literature Index

Cites records in collections of essays and works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada dating back to 1985 and spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences.

Literary Reference Center

This comprehensive, full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.

Literature Resource Center

Provides literature criticism, detailed biographies and bibliographies, social and historical context, and facilitates the study of literary movements, genres, and themes; contains more than 75,000 selected full text signed critical essays, over 1,000,000 full text articles, critical essays and reviews; over 40,000 full text poems, short stories and plays; more than 400 full-text literary scholarly journals; core Gale literary series; links to nearly 11,200 authoritative web sites; 500,000 film, book and theatre reviews; more than 11,000 interviews and reviews plus 58,000 links to NPR broadcasts; 11,000 work overviews; biographical essays on more than 145,000 authors; 3,800 author portraits; 10,000 definitions of literary terms.

Online Book Clubs

You can sign up for one, or several book clubs, depending on what you like to read. Immediately, you'll receive a welcome message from your library thanking you for joining. And the next morning, you'll start receiving their daily "dose of book." On Monday we start new books in the clubs. Each day you receive a little more of the featured book. By the end of the week, you've sampled 2-3 chapters, enough to know if you "just-have-to" finish the book.

Open Library

Open Library has millions of records for books that are not yet available in digital form; it also has nearly three million books that are available in digital form.

Scribner Writers Online

Features nearly 2,200 biographical and critical essays on over 1,400 important writers from around the world, often from multiple viewpoints to provide differing perspectives.

Short Story Index

This database is an essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure.

TeachingBooks.net

Resource that can be used by teachers, students, librarians and families to explore children's books and young adult literature and their authors.

Twayne's Authors Online

 Offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.

Twentieth-Century American Poetry

A comprehensive collection of copyrighted, American, twentieth-century poetry, this database covers more than 316 of the most important and studied poets and includes over 52,000 works.

Worldcat

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 86 million bibliographic records and nearly 1.2 billion holdings representing the collections of more than 10,000 libraries, over 400 languages, and all types of materials ranging from stone tablets to electronic books. WorldCat is updated daily and is now easier to search than ever.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Britannica Escolar Online

Search encyclopedic articles, videos and Internet sites.

Bienvenido a Britannica Escolar Online, un eficaz recurso para investigar o consultar artículos enciclopédicos, videos y sitios de Internet. Britannica Escolar Online también contiene actividades y juegos en los Materiales de Aprendizaje, un diccionario español-inglés, un atlas interactivo y mucho más para explorar.

Britannica Library

Contains encyclopedias for three different age groups, along with magazine articles, homework help, atlas, dictionaries and thesauri, and video and audio content.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.

World Book Web

General information across a wide variety of topics. Includes encyclopedia articles, primary sources, pictures, audio, and video. Reading levels from eight years through adult.

Business & Finance

Business Abstracts with Full-Text

Offering a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals, this comprehensive database is an ideal resource for those looking to conduct research or find information in any area of business.

Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.

Business Source Complete

Full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

 

Enhanced Business Search

EBSCO Publishing has created a business-specific interface for use with appropriate Business Source® databases. The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides business researchers with the highly refined tools they need, in order to conduct sophisticated searches for the business content that they require. Through the use of the BSI, the full text business content of Business Source® Premier and Business Source® Complete can be located and retrieved more quickly and with greater precision than ever before.

An array of sophisticated features is available within the BSI, which provides users with a high level of control over the development of their search strategies. For example, because the content of the Business Source databases is gathered from a wide variety of sources, including Academic Journals, SWOT Analyses, Trade Publications, Industry Profiles, Company Profiles, Market Research Reports, and Product Reviews, the BSI allows users to easily refine their searches to extract only the content from their preferred source type(s).

Morningstar

Investors value Morningstar data and analysis, as well as the exclusive investment tools and educational features available online.

Regional Business News

This robust resource provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces.

Small Business Reference Center

Provides detailed "how-to" instructions to address small business topics, such as buying and selling a business, managing employees, writing a business plans, understanding legal information, a business and much more.

Jobs & Careers

Career Center Plus (LearningExpress)

Are you preparing for a professional exam? Are you curious about a particular occupation or looking to improve your workplace skills? Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve your workplace skills here. 

Job & Career Accelerator (LearningExpress)

Job & Career Accelerator places everything needed for career selection and job searching into one easy-to-use tool for anyone who wants to stand out from the competition, advance in their career, or discover exciting new employment opportunities.

JobNow

Get help writing a resume or cover letter and other career resources at your fingertips.

Live, online interview and resume coaching from 2 p.m. to 11 p.m. every day.

JOBview – Dallas-Ft. Worth

Easy-to-use service with thousands of job listings updated daily. Search in the Metroplex, Texas, or across the nation for positions in many fields. You can apply online or e-mail the posting to yourself. Includes listings from the Texas Workforce Commission's "Work in Texas" job resource, plus listings from various national labor exchanges.

Vocational and Career Collection

Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this collection provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals including Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age and many more.

Computers & Technology

Computer and Internet Basics

The fastest and easiest way to learn how to use a computer is with video tutorials. Now you can learn computer basics quickly and become comfortable with everything your computer has to offer.

Computer Skills Center

Video courses are the fastest and easiest way to learn how to use a computer. Use the materials in this center to learn the basics of a computer, from searching the Internet to using popular programs for word processing, creating spreadsheets and databases, implementing design, and more.

Computer Source

Contains nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Computer Source provides a balance of full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles.

Information Science & Technology

This database has been enhanced to include cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 80 core information science and technology titles. With coverage dating as far back as the mid 1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field.

Popular Software Tutorials (Learning Express)

Use today’s most popular computer programs, including Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, and more.

Government & Politics

Congress.gov

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.

Country Fact Sheets

Previously called Background Notes, this is an updating collection of essential information on the countries of the world: their history, economies, geography, population, government, religions, relations with the U.S., human rights reports, travel and passport information, and more. Links provided to more information from other government agencies and departments, embassies etc.

Military & Government Collection

Designed to offer current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.

Procitizen

ProCitizen is an online course to prepare New Americans for the civics, reading, and writing parts of the USCIS Naturalization Test to become a citizen. Includes 100 instructional citizenship videos in both English and Spanish.

Reference & Research

Directory of Open Access Journals

Provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science.

Law

DRAGNET: Search of Free Legal Databases

DRAGNET stands for “Database Retrieval Access using Google’s New Electronic Technology,” a specialized search engine that was developed by librarians at the New York Law School. This feature enables you to “drag the net” through a group of free law-related Web resources. A DRAGNET search is like a Google search, except that it runs in only a select group of websites, produced by the organizations and entities listed below. The sites were chosen by our Library staff for their reliability and utility to legal researchers.* DRAGNET now contains search tabs that look at specific portions of the law. Each tab can generate up to 100 hits, ranked for relevance by Google’s search engine. DRAGNET can be a good tool to begin a research project, giving you a sense of what kinds of materials can be found on your topic.

Legal Collection

Containing full text for hundreds of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.

Legal Forms

Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.

Legal Information Resource Center

Legal Information Reference Center offers everyday users the necessary tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide-range of legal issues. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the Legal Forms by U.S. State feature, users can search state-specific legal forms by top subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name changes and more.

Home & Garden

Home Improvement Reference Center

Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides users with detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering all manner of home improvement/repair projects.

Household Products Database

What's under your kitchen sink, in your garage, in your bathroom, and on the shelves in your laundry room? Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling.

Arts & Culture

Humanities Full-Text

This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more. Humanities Full Text encompasses all fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much, much more.

Image Collection

The Image Collection database consists of more than 1 million images. The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.

Play Index

Covers over 31,000 classic and historical plays dating from 1949, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from famous playwrights.

Language Learning

Mango Languages

Mango offers access to 60 foreign language courses and 17 English courses taught completely in the user's native language. In addition to traditional language courses, Mango also offers the opportunity to learn through foreign film with Mango Premiere™ and access to a variety of specialty mini courses, like Pirate, Medical Spanish and romance courses.

Pronunciator

Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 80 languages with self-directed lessons, live teachers, movies, music, and more.

Social Sciences

Family Studies Abstracts

This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

This comprehensive resource provides extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of  topics in the fields of psychology and behavioral sciences.

Race Relations Abstracts

This resource provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races.

Directories

ReferenceUSA

Real-time access to more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, U.S. new homeowners & movers.

Religion & Philosophy

Religion and Philosophy Collection

This resource is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

Automotive

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

User-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines.

Texas

Handbook of Texas Online

The Handbook of Texas Online is a project of the Texas State Historical Association. The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations. Subsequent developments will include additional corrections and updates, new articles, illustrations, and audio-video media.

Texas Constitution and Statutes

Compilation of Texas law that is updated biannually.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

Large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities from 1867-1960.

Texas Reference Center

Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure.