Dog Days at the Library

This unique program brings trained therapy dogs and their owners into the library, creating a safe and pressure free zone for children to practice their reading skills. The therapy dogs are specially trained to listen to and interact with young readers.

Programs will be on the 4th Saturday of the month, January thru April 2017 at the Southwest Branch Library in the Children's Area.

Children, ages 5 and up, are invited to come read to a patient dog for 15 minutes. Parents are encouraged to stay back and watch their child become comfortable reading to his or her canine buddy.

We encourage families to come early and sign up for a quarter hour time slot.

Upcoming Dates

    • Sat, Mar 25, 2017 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    • Sat, Apr 22, 2017 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    SW Children's Area
    Southwest Branch Library
    3311 SW Green Oaks Blvd
    Arlington, TX 76017

Previous Dates

    • Sat, Jan 28, 2017 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    • Sat, Feb 25, 2017 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    SW Children's Area
    Southwest Branch Library
    3311 SW Green Oaks Blvd
    Arlington, TX 76017
    • Sat, Sep 17, 2016 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    • Sat, Oct 15, 2016 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    • Sat, Nov 19, 2016 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    • Sat, Dec 17, 2016 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    SW Children's Area
    Southwest Branch Library
    3311 SW Green Oaks Blvd
    Arlington, TX 76017
    • Sat, Jan 23, 2016 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    • Sat, Feb 27, 2016 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    • Sat, Mar 26, 2016 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    • Sat, Apr 23, 2016 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    SW Children's Area
    Southwest Branch Library
    3311 SW Green Oaks Blvd
    Arlington, TX 76017
    • Sat, Dec 19, 2015 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    SW Children's Area
    Southwest Branch Library
    3311 SW Green Oaks Blvd
    Arlington, TX 76017
    • Sat, Oct 24, 2015 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    • Sat, Nov 7, 2015 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
    SW Children's Area
    Southwest Branch Library
    3311 SW Green Oaks Blvd
    Arlington, TX 76017
Contact
Yuliana Aceves
817-459-6900
Program Type: 
Literacy / Tutoring
Age Group: 
Child